MST ENGINEERING · READ / COMPARE / VERIFY

XAL4020-221MEC datasheet explained

The suffix identifies tolerance, termination and packaging. The 12.0 A and 16.8 A entries correspond to different temperature-rise conditions, while 18.7 A uses a 30% inductance-drop threshold.

AI-assisted technical interpretation, checked against the cited PDFs. Application replacement has not been tested.

01 / PARAMETERS & CONDITIONS

What each specification actually says

Typ, min and max retain the document’s labels. A dash means no value is stated for that label; it does not mean zero.

Ordering identity 1

Exact ordering suffix

M: ±20%; E: tin-silver (96.5/3.5) over copper; C: 7-inch machine-ready reel code

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Keep XAL4020-221MEC intact when matching a quote or sample. Other termination/reel suffixes are distinct ordering options.

Electrical ratings 7

Initial inductance

0.22 µH

Tolerance: ±20%

PDF p. 1

Conditions — 1 MHz; 0.1 Vrms; 0 Adc; electrical specifications at 25 °C.

Why it matters — Sets the starting inductance used in ripple and control calculations. This small-signal value is not the inductance guaranteed at operating bias.

DC resistance

typ: 5.81; max: 6.4 mΩ

Min: — · Typ: 5.81 · Max: 6.4

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Micro-ohmmeter; electrical specifications at 25 °C.

Why it matters — Supports a DC conduction-loss budget. Use the stated maximum for a bound at its reference temperature; it excludes AC/core loss.

Self-resonant frequency

191 MHz

Min: — · Typ: 191 · Max: —

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Agilent/HP 4395A or equivalent; 25 °C electrical specifications.

Why it matters — A resonance reference, not an approved converter switching frequency.

Saturation current Isat

18.7 A

PDF p. 1

Conditions — 25 °C; 30% typical inductance decrease from zero-current value.

Why it matters — Marks a stated inductance-drop threshold. It is neither a continuous-current rating nor a no-saturation boundary.

The Isat column reports 18.7 A without a TYP label. The footnote marks the 30% inductance-decrease criterion as typical; it does not separately classify this current as TYP.

Irms at +20 °C

12 A

PDF p. 1

Conditions — +20 °C rise from 25 °C ambient.

Why it matters — Describes self-heating under the supplier test method. Verify total temperature on the actual PCB and current waveform.

Manufacturer marks heating ratings as reference information, not absolute maximum ratings.

Irms at +40 °C

16.8 A

PDF p. 1

Conditions — +40 °C rise from 25 °C ambient.

Why it matters — Describes self-heating under the supplier test method. Verify total temperature on the actual PCB and current waveform.

Actual PCB, traces, airflow and neighboring heat sources change the rise.

Published operating voltage

60 V

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Footnote 7 says capability is part-dependent and may be higher; no higher value is assigned here.

Why it matters — Check actual voltage stress using the manufacturer-qualified condition.

Temperature limits 4

Ambient temperature range

-40; 125 °C

Min: -40 · Typ: — · Max: 125

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Stated with the +40 °C-rise Irms current.

Why it matters — This is the ambient range associated with the +40 °C-rise Irms rating. Check the total component-temperature limit separately for the actual current and cooling.

Maximum part temperature

165 °C

Min: — · Typ: — · Max: 165

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Ambient plus self-heating.

Why it matters — A material operating/storage limit, distinct from ambient temperature and from a permitted temperature rise.

Component storage

-55; 165 °C

Min: -55 · Typ: — · Max: 165

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A material operating/storage limit, distinct from ambient temperature and from a permitted temperature rise.

Tape/reel storage

-55; 80 °C

Min: -55 · Typ: — · Max: 80

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A material operating/storage limit, distinct from ambient temperature and from a permitted temperature rise.

Construction 2

Core material

Composite material

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Material family only; loss under a particular waveform still requires a suitable model or measurement.

Environmental and qualification declarations

AEC-Q200 qualified; RoHS compliant; halogen free declaration

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A declaration in this document. It does not qualify the finished equipment or replace a product-specific qualification report.

Assembly and reflow 3

Moisture sensitivity

1 MSL

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Unlimited floor life at <30 °C / 85% RH per sheet.

Why it matters — Controls handling after packaging is opened, within the stated conditions.

Soldering-heat resistance

temperature: 260; duration per reflow max: 40; reflows max: 3 °C; s; cycles

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Cool to room temperature between cycles.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

PCB washing reference

MIL-STD-202 Method 215 plus aqueous wash; linked Doc787 reference

PDF p. 1

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Consult the linked process document before selecting a cleaning process. It was not audited in this extraction.

Dimensions and PCB lands 5

Body outline

x: 4.0 ±0.3; y: 4.0 ±0.3; height max: 2.1 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use with the original drawing for clearance, terminal overlap and assembly review. A body size does not establish PCB compatibility.

Bottom-terminal geometry

terminal width along axis: 0.82 ±0.05; terminal length: 3.25 typ; gap callout: 1.57 ±0.25 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use with the original drawing for clearance, terminal overlap and assembly review. A body size does not establish PCB compatibility.

Recommended PCB lands

pad width: 3.4; pad length along connection axis: 0.98; center spacing: 2.37; inner gap derived: 1.39; outer span derived: 3.35 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A recommended PCB land geometry. Compare copper, mask and paste against both drawings before any replacement.

Derived gap = 2.37−0.98; outer span = 2.37+0.98. The 2.37 dimension locates pad centers.

Part mass

0.17; 0.18 g

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Supports assembly/mechanical estimates; this is the listed range.

Orientation marking

Manufacturer mark identifies terminal direction and the short/start lead; high-dv/dt connection is recommended there for EMI. instruction

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Evaluate mounting orientation during EMI work; do not erase it merely because an inductor has two terminals.

Packaging 3

Selected C reel

diameter inches: 7; quantity: 1000 inch; pieces

PDF p. 1, 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

XAL4020 tape

width: 12; thickness: 0.23; pocket spacing: 8; pocket depth: 2.3 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — EIA-481 embossed plastic tape.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Separate D reel option

diameter inches: 13; quantity: 3500 inch; pieces

PDF p. 1, 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

D is a different ordering suffix. It is not the selected MEC configuration.

Document_conditions 2

Manufacturer use condition

Prior Coilcraft approval required by the sheet for medical or high-risk applications. condition

PDF p. 1, 2, 3, 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Keep the manufacturer’s stated application condition in any engineering approval workflow.

Other-termination dimensional note

T: tin-silver-copper 95.5/4/0.5; S: tin-lead 63/37; premount extra height or dimension note mm: 0.13 composition; mm

PDF p. 1, 4

Conditions — Note applies to optional T/S terminations, not the selected E suffix.

Why it matters — Prevents transfer of a nonselected termination note into MEC dimensions.

Curves and document coverage

0.22 µH L versus current

No additional curve-specific temperature or tolerance printed on this page; use the associated sheet conditions cautiously.

Illustrative trend, not a guaranteed minimum-L curve.

PDF p. 2

Typical L and ESR versus frequency

Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

No AC/core-loss or efficiency result is calculated from these small-signal curves.

PDF p. 4
  • Selected row; ratings; notes 1–8 · p. 1
  • 0.22 µH current curve · p. 2
  • Other inductance curves · p. 3
  • L/ESR curves; outline; lands; orientation; tape · p. 4

Still needs confirmation

  • Guaranteed minimum inductance under the application current/temperature, complete hot-bias data and the converter loss/EMI outcome are not established here.
  • Linked derating, loss-model, washing and soldering documents are not a completed application audit.

Compare this model

Can VCMA-0420-R22-M-1A replace XAL4020-221MEC? Read the current and pad conditions first →

03 / ENGINEERING DISCUSSION

Contributed application evidence

No reviewed community posts here yet. Have a question or a measured result? Contribute below.

ASK / ADD EVIDENCE

What does your application need?

Include exact part numbers, operating conditions and a public source link where available. A useful test report also states the board, method, conditions and result.

MST keeps your original submission and email in the owner review inbox. Only an edited, reviewed version is published; your email is private. Do not include confidential design data in text intended for publication.

Privacy