MST ENGINEERING · READ / COMPARE / VERIFY
Can VCMA-0420-R22-M-1A replace XAL4020-221MEC? Read the current and pad conditions first
Interchangeability is not confirmed. Nominal inductance matches, but the heating-current figures, total-temperature limit, operating/rated voltage and recommended lands differ. MAZO’s lower DCR alone cannot establish lower operating temperature or unchanged efficiency. Treat it as a conditional evaluation candidate after resolving the current-column ambiguity.
AI-assisted technical interpretation, checked against the cited PDFs. Application replacement has not been tested.
MST TECHNICAL EDITORIAL
Read the source interpretation first
Coilcraft manufacturer-hosted PDF and MAZO manufacturer-branded PDF publicly mirrored by MST. This is editorial interpretation, not a manufacturer-approved cross-reference. Source release/lot applicability and application results are not certified here.
Compare the published specifications
| Parameter | XAL4020-221MEC | VCMA-0420-R22-M-1A | Engineering meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| L0 and measurement | 0.22 µH 1 MHz; 0.1 Vrms; 0 Adc; electrical specifications at 25 °C. PDF p. 1 | 0.22 µH 1 MHz; 1.0 V (RMS not stated); 25 °C ambient. PDF p. 3 | Same 0.22 µH / ±20%; the excitation differs: 0.1 Vrms versus 1.0 V without RMS notation. |
| DC resistance | typ: 5.81; max: 6.4 mΩ Micro-ohmmeter; electrical specifications at 25 °C. PDF p. 1 | typ: 5; max: 5.6 mΩ Table note: 25 °C ambient. Instrument is not stated for DCR. PDF p. 3 | Maximum DCR is 6.4 versus 5.6 mΩ. This supports only the DC-resistance comparison at the reference condition. |
| Heating-current condition | 16.8 A +40 °C rise from 25 °C ambient. PDF p. 1 | TYP: 12; MAX column: 10 A Approximately +40 °C rise from 25 °C ambient; DC test current. PDF p. 3 | 16.8 versus 12.0 A TYP at +40 °C rise. The reported MAZO typical figure is 28.6% lower, not a transferable board-current limit. MAZO also prints MAX 10.0 A, whose convention needs clarification. |
| Isat definition | 18.7 A 25 °C; 30% typical inductance decrease from zero-current value. PDF p. 1 | TYP: 18.5; MAX column: 17.5 A DC current at approximately 30% L0 decrease; 25 °C ambient. PDF p. 3 | Both use about 30% L reduction at 25 °C. Coilcraft publishes 18.7 A with a typical 30% decrease criterion; MAZO labels 18.5 A TYP. Similar room-temperature figures do not establish the same hot-bias curve. |
| Published voltage | 60 V Footnote 7 says capability is part-dependent and may be higher; no higher value is assigned here. PDF p. 1 | 40 V A4 adds the MAX voltage column. Surge, dielectric and waveform test details are not supplied. PDF p. 1, 3 | The sheet labels are 60 V operating and 40 V MAX rated respectively; no extra surge capability is inferred. |
| Total part-temperature limit | 165 °C Ambient plus self-heating. PDF p. 1 | -55; 125 °C Ambient plus self-heating. PDF p. 2, 3 | Upper total part temperature is 165 versus 125 °C. Neither is a license to add another 40 °C to that total. |
| Body and height | x: 4.0 ±0.3; y: 4.0 ±0.3; height max: 2.1 mm Not specified for this field in the cited pages. PDF p. 4 | x: 4.4 ±0.35; y: 4.2 ±0.25; height: 1.8 ±0.2; maximum envelope: 4.75; 4.45; 2 mm Not specified for this field in the cited pages. PDF p. 2, 4 | Compare toleranced dimensions, not just the 4020 family name. MAZO’s maximum envelope is wider/longer; Coilcraft’s stated maximum height is 0.1 mm greater. |
| Recommended lands | pad width: 3.4; pad length along connection axis: 0.98; center spacing: 2.37; inner gap derived: 1.39; outer span derived: 3.35 mm Not specified for this field in the cited pages. PDF p. 4 | pad width: 2.5; pad length along connection axis: 1.5; inner gap: 2.2; outer span: 5.2 mm Not specified for this field in the cited pages. PDF p. 4 | Pad shape and spacing differ. Coilcraft 2.37 mm is center spacing; its derived inner gap is 1.39 mm. MAZO inner gap is 2.2 mm. No pin-to-pin claim follows. |
What this comparison cannot confirm
Candidate for a documented engineering evaluation; replacement on an existing board is not established.
- Meaning of MAZO’s current MAX columns, common-fixture heating performance and guaranteed hot-bias limits.
- Fit on the user’s PCB, full voltage-transient tolerance, control stability, loss, EMI and finished-system qualification.
Application review and proposed tests
Proposed checklist only; no test was performed for this editorial.
- Confirm the exact source revision and current-column convention with the manufacturer before assigning acceptance limits.
- Verify the application against the candidate’s voltage and total-temperature limits, actual hot L and peak/RMS current, then verify its PCB lands and assembly process.
- Record the full part numbers, sample lot IDs, PDF revisions, board revision and equipment configuration. Verify markings against reel labels.
- Set application limits first: input/output ranges, switching frequency, phase count, worst-case RMS/peak current, ambient temperature and allowable hot inductance.
- Overlay both mechanical drawings on the actual copper/mask/paste pattern; inspect clearances, solder coverage and assembly tolerances.
- Measure L and DCR with recorded instrument frequency/amplitude/temperature; sweep DC bias and relevant hot conditions without exceeding agreed test limits.
- On the intended board, compare current waveform, ripple, efficiency and stabilized part temperature across the required load/input/ambient range. Record copper, airflow and neighboring heat sources.
- Check startup, shutdown and specified transient/protection cases, then compare EMI and mechanical/acoustic behavior where the design requires it.
- Attach measured results, sample count, acceptance limits and engineering disposition before changing the evidence status to application-validated.
03 / ENGINEERING DISCUSSION
Contributed application evidence
No reviewed community posts here yet. Have a question or a measured result? Contribute below.
ASK / ADD EVIDENCE
What does your application need?
Include exact part numbers, operating conditions and a public source link where available. A useful test report also states the board, method, conditions and result.
MST keeps your original submission and email in the owner review inbox. Only an edited, reviewed version is published; your email is private. Do not include confidential design data in text intended for publication.