MST ENGINEERING · READ / COMPARE / VERIFY

LPCA-1040-R36-M datasheet explained

The 50 A figure is a typical saturation threshold. The separate heating-current figure is 30 A. A1 uses a 1 MHz inductance test and includes reliability requirements, which are not an MST test report.

AI-assisted technical interpretation, checked against the cited PDFs. Application replacement has not been tested.

01 / PARAMETERS & CONDITIONS

What each specification actually says

Typ, min and max retain the document’s labels. A dash means no value is stated for that label; it does not mean zero.

Electrical ratings 4

Initial inductance L0

0.36 µH

Tolerance: ±20%

PDF p. 3

Conditions — A1: 1 MHz, 1 V; 25 °C ambient; RMS notation absent.

Why it matters — Sets the starting inductance used in ripple and control calculations. This small-signal value is not the inductance guaranteed at operating bias.

DC resistance

typ: 1.05; max: 1.2 mΩ

Min: — · Typ: 1.05 · Max: 1.2

PDF p. 3

Conditions — 25 °C ambient reference.

Why it matters — Supports a DC conduction-loss budget. Use the stated maximum for a bound at its reference temperature; it excludes AC/core loss.

Heating current Idc

30 A

Min: — · Typ: 30 · Max: —

PDF p. 3

Conditions — DC current; approximately +40 °C rise at 25 °C ambient.

Why it matters — Describes self-heating under the supplier test method. Verify total temperature on the actual PCB and current waveform.

Saturation current Isat

50 A

Min: — · Typ: 50 · Max: —

PDF p. 3

Conditions — DC current; approximately 30% L0 decrease; 25 °C ambient.

Why it matters — Marks a stated inductance-drop threshold. It is neither a continuous-current rating nor a no-saturation boundary.

Temperature limits 2

Operating part temperature

-55; 125 °C

Min: -55 · Typ: — · Max: 125

PDF p. 2, 3

Conditions — Ambient plus self-heating.

Why it matters — A material operating/storage limit, distinct from ambient temperature and from a permitted temperature rise.

Storage temperature

-55; 125 °C

Min: -55 · Typ: — · Max: 125

PDF p. 2

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A material operating/storage limit, distinct from ambient temperature and from a permitted temperature rise.

Construction 1

Construction and declarations

magnetically shielded; RoHS compliant; halogen free declaration

PDF p. 2

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A declaration in this document. It does not qualify the finished equipment or replace a product-specific qualification report.

AEC-Q200 and core chemistry are not stated in A1. Do not inherit them from another MAZO family or an older document.

Dimensions and PCB lands 4

Body outline

x max: 11.5; y: 10.0 ±0.3; height: 3.8 ±0.2; maximum envelope: 11.5; 10.3; 4 mm

PDF p. 2, 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use with the original drawing for clearance, terminal overlap and assembly review. A body size does not establish PCB compatibility.

Terminal drawing callouts

horizontal terminal callout: 2.0 ±0.5; terminal width: 3.0 ±0.5; coplanarity or standoff callout: 0 to 0.15 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use with the original drawing for clearance, terminal overlap and assembly review. A body size does not establish PCB compatibility.

Recommended PCB lands

pad width: 4.1; pad length along connection axis: 4.1; inner gap: 5.4; outer span: 13.6 mm

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — A recommended PCB land geometry. Compare copper, mask and paste against both drawings before any replacement.

Axial pad length is calculated as (13.6−5.4)/2 = 4.1 mm; no land tolerance is stated.

Marking convention

Three-digit code; the drawing illustrates 220 (22 µH), not R36. code

PDF p. 4

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Read the reel label and exact model; the illustration is a family example.

Assembly and reflow 6

Reflow reference

J-STD-020; generic SnPb and Pb-free classification profile reference

PDF p. 2, 9

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

Reflow preheat / soak

SnPb temperature: 100; 150; Pb free temperature: 150; 200; both time: 60; 120 °C; s

PDF p. 9

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

Reflow ramp rates

ramp up max: 3; ramp down max: 6 °C/s

PDF p. 9

Conditions — Average ramp-up from Tsmax to Tp: 3 °C/s maximum; average ramp-down from Tp to Tsmax: 6 °C/s maximum. The limits apply to both solder process columns.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

Liquidus and dwell

SnPb liquidus: 183; Pb free liquidus: 217; both dwell: 60; 150 °C; s

PDF p. 9

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

Near-peak and total time

within 5C of Tc SnPb: 20; within 5C of Tc Pb free: 30; 25C to peak SnPb max minutes: 6; 25C to peak Pb free max minutes: 8 s; min

PDF p. 9

Conditions — Peak temperature/time tolerance is defined by the sheet as supplier minimum and user maximum.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

Pb-free peak classification matrix

volume columns mm3: <350; 350–2000; >2000; thickness rows mm: <1.6: 260; 260; 260; 1.6–2.5: 260; 250; 245; >2.5: 250; 245; 245 °C

PDF p. 9

Conditions — Generic thickness/volume classification; applicability must be confirmed.

Why it matters — Use to review the permitted assembly thermal profile. Confirm the applicable package classification and line process; this is not an oven recipe or a completed test.

No inferred SnPb correction: that table repeats a volume heading. No standalone guaranteed part-specific peak is asserted here.

Packaging 6

Carrier-tape pocket

A0: 10.7 ±0.10; B0: 12.0 ±0.10; K0: 4.5 ±0.10; t: 0.35 ±0.025 mm

PDF p. 11

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Carrier tape and sprocket geometry

tape width: 24 ±0.1; pocket pitch: 16 ±0.1; sprocket pitch: 4 ±0.1; hole diameter: 1.5 ±0.1; half pitch: 2 ±0.1; edge to hole: 1.75 ±0.1; hole line to pocket center: 11.5 ±0.1 mm

PDF p. 11

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Leader / start / trailer

leader min: 400; carrier start min: 100; trailer min: 160 mm

PDF p. 11

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Reel geometry

outer diameter: 330 ±2.0; hub diameter: 100 ±1.0; center hole: 13.0 ±1.0; surrounding hole callout: 20.0 ±0.5; key callout: 2.0 ±0.5; A: 24.5 ±1.0; B: 2.0 ±0.2 mm

PDF p. 12

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Full-reel quantity

500 pieces/reel

PDF p. 12

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Cover-tape peel

force: 0.1; 1.3; peel speed approx: 300; peel angle: 165; 180 N; mm/min; degrees

PDF p. 12

Conditions — Not specified for this field in the cited pages.

Why it matters — For reel/feed and assembly preparation; it is not an inventory or order-quantity promise.

Reliability conditions 10

Solderability

temperature: 245 ±5 °C; time: 5 +0/−0.5 s; coverage min: 95% mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Solder-heat resistance

temperature: 255 ±5 °C; duration max: 30 s; repetitions: 3; L change: ±10% mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Terminal strength

force: 17.7 N; duration: 60 s; directions: X; Y; acceptance: no electrode detachment mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Solder the electrodes to a copper plate before applying the specified force. Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Vibration

sweep: 10→2000→10 Hz / 20 min; duration: 4 h per axis; three perpendicular axes; amplitude max: 1.5 mm; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no mechanical damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Mechanical shock

peak: 100 G; pulse: 6 ms; repeats: 3 per positive/negative direction on each of 3 axes; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no mechanical damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Substrate bending

speed: 0.5 mm/s; deflection: 2 mm; hold: 60 s; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no visible damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Thermal shock

cycles: 1000; cold: −55 ±2 °C; 30 ±3 min; hot: +125 ±2 °C; 30 ±3 min; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no visible damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Operational life

current: rated Idc; ambient: 85 °C; duration: 1000 +4/−0 h; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no visible damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

High-temperature storage

temperature: +125 ±2 °C; duration: 1000 +4/−0 h; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no visible damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

High temperature / humidity

temperature: 85 °C; humidity: 85% RH; duration: 1000 +4/−0 h; L change: ±10%; acceptance: no visible damage mixed (shown with each value)

PDF p. 10

Conditions — Manufacturer test requirement; no sample count or measured results supplied.

Why it matters — Describes an acceptance condition to request and verify; it does not establish that any supplied lot passed.

Curves and document coverage

L and temperature rise versus DC bias: LPCA-1040-R36-M

26 ±3 °C; RH <70%; 1 MHz, 1.0 V; Wayne Kerr 3260B/G + 3265B.

No fitted or guaranteed point values are derived. The rating table and illustrative curve are not substituted for one another.

PDF p. 5
  • Revision history · p. 1
  • Identity/environment · p. 2
  • Selected electrical row and all five notes · p. 3
  • Outline, lands, marking · p. 4
  • R36 curve and conditions · p. 5
  • Other model curves · p. 6, 7, 8
  • Reflow chart and tables · p. 9
  • Ten reliability requirements · p. 10
  • Tape/reel/peel/quantity · p. 11, 12

Still needs confirmation

  • No voltage rating, Q, SRF, MSL, core chemistry, AEC-Q200 claim, hot-current guarantee or AC/core-loss model in this A1 sheet.
  • Reliability conditions are specifications, not lot-specific pass results.
  • The older LCSC copy uses 100 kHz; keep its data separate from A1 at 1 MHz.

Compare this model

LPCA-1040-R36-M versus SRP1038A-R36M: why 50 A and 60 A do not mean the same thing →

03 / ENGINEERING DISCUSSION

Contributed application evidence

No reviewed community posts here yet. Have a question or a measured result? Contribute below.

ASK / ADD EVIDENCE

What does your application need?

Include exact part numbers, operating conditions and a public source link where available. A useful test report also states the board, method, conditions and result.

MST keeps your original submission and email in the owner review inbox. Only an edited, reviewed version is published; your email is private. Do not include confidential design data in text intended for publication.

Privacy